It’s a pretty special day ’round these parts…

We would like you all to take a very careful look at the following sign:

Oh yes, it most certainly DOES say what you think it does.

Beverly and I are full-on pie appreciators (and professional pie eaters), so when Beverly received word from her sister about this holiday (yep, it’s an actual HO-LI-DAY), we knew it must be commemorated.

So, we saddled up the horses, grabbed fellow editor and pie eater Joanna, and took ourselves down to a local bakery. They, judging by that sign, were quite aware of the significance of this day.

We went with an apple cranberry pie, and it was…yum. Very yum. Sturdy, yet flaky crust (very important, as we’re sure you all know), tart cranberries, and apples that were soft, but not at all mushy.

Take a look at the beautiousness (it’s a word. Believe.).

January 23rd, or 1/23 is National Pie Day because making pie is easy as 1-2-3. Get it…1…2..3…?

Anyways, for more info, check out more info from the American Pie Council (that’s right, they are serious about this).

The day is not yet over! Get in the kitchen and bake a pie. Or be lazy like us and go buy one! Then slice and share. Or keep it to yourself. Don’t worry, there’s no judgement here.

Are you a fellow pie appreciator? A professional pie baker? What are some of your favorite kinds of pie? Please tell us in the comments!

6 thoughts on “It’s a pretty special day ’round these parts…

  1. LOL, love your post! I do appreciate a good pie but sadly I am very challenged in the pie making department. My sister-in-law on the other hand makes the bestest pies I have ever eaten and anytime she is invited to a family function she is the designated dessert person! I think pumpkin pie is my very favourite although lemon meringue comes in a very close second. Mmmmm, pie, if you’ll excuse me I have to go call my sister-in-law! Thanks for a fun post!

  2. Oh, thank you for the info on this most special of holidays ;) :) I’m going to share the American Pie Council link on my Facebook page. I LOVE pie..and buttery, extra flaky pie crust :) :) Thanks for the info? I am a pie appreciator and pie eater :) :) Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather :)

Leave a Reply

