Happy April Fools Day! I’m gonna talk about goats.

No really, I am.

 

We had a photo shoot for the mag on Friday at our photographer’s house. He lives on beautiful property, and has horses and goats and chickens…oh my! I always enjoy going there and watching the goats play and butt heads (literally!).

 

I brought my camera along this time so we could take some shots of them. Health-conscious editor had brought a bag of carrots to snack on, and at lunchtime she looked outside and said we should go out and feed the goats. So we did! And in case you’re wondering, yes, we are usually that easily distracted.

 

As soon as they see you coming, these adorable goats get so excited. They start vying for your attention, butting the fence and making funny goat noises (bleating?). And if you hold your fingers out, they start nibbling on them. It was hard to get them to stand still, but we managed to get a few shots of them, and I wanted to share them with you!

These are "the boys", Brooks and Dunn

These are "the boys", Brooks and Dunn

Who says goats can't smile?

Say cheese!

A nice aerial shot of Dunn

A nice aerial shot of Dunn

America's Next Top Goat Model

America's Next Top Goat Model

Best shot ever! How flippin cute is he?

Best shot ever! How flippin cute is he?

Unfriendly Mr. Ed (His name's actually Diesel)

Unfriendly Mr. Ed (His name's actually Diesel)

Just so you know, the goats had no interest whatsoever in the carrots—they wanted something a little more tempting, I guess. But they eat grass, for crying out loud. And fingers, too, apparently. How could they not like carrots? Anyway, we ended up throwing them to the horse, who was playing hard-to-get and wouldn’t come by the fence. Whatever, Mr. Ed.

 

Then endlessly-talented editor was showing off her wicked mad whistling skills (you know that piercing finger-whistle?) and apparently this sound is used to call the horses to come eat. Well they came galloping over—and I mean galloping. They thought they were going to get some tasty treats. Alas, there was nothing. I’ll admit, we laughed at them. I know, we’re mean. Sorry, horsies. But maybe next time you’ll come over to the fence when we have carrots.

4 thoughts on “Happy April Fools Day! I’m gonna talk about goats.

  1. Pingback: It’s a long way from those cute, furry goats « Create & Decorate: The Blog

  2. Awww, aren’t they the sweetest things ~ till they munch on a finger or two, I suppose!

    I’m so glad to see C&D has a blog! I’ll be back to visit…

Leave a Reply

