While the boss is away…

So I had a couple of editor-free days while my fearless leader was out of the office. (She lets me do whatever I want when she’s here anyway, so it’s not like having her gone means a big party. Really, it just means there’s no one to talk to or laugh with.)

But anyway, since she was gone, I felt like I could take a few minutes and play instead of work. Faber-Castell sent me their Getting Started: Mixed Media & Collage kit from the Creative Studio, and this was the perfect opportunity to try it out. I’m always a sucker for a kit. (I apologize now for all picture quality; it’s the best I can do with a cell phone.)

 

Faber-Castell

Unfortunately, I took it apart before I took this picture, so it looked much more neat and tidy when it got here. The kit includes 12 fully illustrated instruction cards, 1 pencil sharpener, 2 ART GRIP Aquarelle Watercolor Pencils, 1 PITT brush pen, 1 jar of Gesso, 1 white craft glue (in a squeezy pen container), 20 sheets of assorted design paper, 7 greyboard surfaces in assorted sizes (one side is textured and the other is smooth), 1 foam brush, 2 rubber stamps, 1 stamp pad, 1 plastic screen, and 1 small piece of lace.

Now, I appreciate art in all forms, love it in fact. It fascinates me. However, my creative medium is writing, and that’s pretty much what I’m good at. Anything else just makes me feel nervous and inept. But, when I received this kit, I thought, hmm, this looks like something I just might be able to do. And it looked fun! The papers were really pretty and I just got so many ideas as I was looking through everything. They included some basic instructions and some ideas, but the vibe was pretty much “Here’s some stuff to get you started. Have at it!”

Since I love to sing and I saw the music score papers, I came up with this idea:

Sing Your Song

I guess it could be an ATC, it has the right measurements. I covered the smallest piece of greyboard with Gesso, then scribbled with the brown and blue watercolor pencils. I then wet the foam brush and blended the pencil—that was really cool. I felt very Monet doing that. When that dried, I added the words “Sing your song” with the brush pen. Then I glued on some pictures and let them I dry. I roughed everything up a bit, stamped in a few places, then added a few pieces of the plastic screen. I added a few more swipes of Gesso then “aged” it all a bit more with the brown watercolor pencil. It’s not going to be hanging in a museum any time soon, but I like it.

My second attempt was this:

 

Adventure

I want to travel, and Paris is at the top of the list, so when I saw the Eiffel tower and the map of Paris, I was inspired. I used the next-to-largest piece of greyboard and added a layer of Gesso. I colored over all the Gesso with the brown watercolor pencil and blended it. Once that dried, I added the papers and the words “dreaming of adventure.” Then I added some more Gesso and covered those spots in some blue watercolor pencil. I also added some blue watercolor pencil to the Eiffel tower picture and I really like how that turned out. I was a little more free form with this one, and just kind of did stuff without thinking about it, and I like how this one turned out as well.

And I guess that’s a big part of being creative. Just doing things that inspire you. It really doesn’t matter if no one likes them. If they mean something to you, then it’s all good.

There are still lot of things left in the box, which means plenty more opportunities to be creative. Maybe I’ll hand it over to FL so that she can try her hand at it. And then I can take a day off and let her play while I’m gone 🙂

Click here for more info on Faber-Castell, and to view their other product offerings.

On a more important note: It’s Friday, people! Have a kick-butt weekend!

2 thoughts on “While the boss is away…

  1. Thanks, Lana, I had a good time just playing around. And let’s be honest, it also rocks that the kit was free 🙂 haha! But I would definitely recommend it for beginners–not intimidating at all!

  2. Oooh ~ so many goodies in that box! I like the pieces you made, especially Sing Your Song.
    I haven’t been looking at craft store kits lately. I have so much stuff here in my workroom that I’m trying to use it up before buying more supplies… and boy, is that hard!
    Have a great week-end!

Leave a Reply

