Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a bag

As a child, one of my favorite movies was (and still is) Mary Poppins. I would watch it all the time, sing along at the top of my lungs, and try to speak in a crisp British accent, just like Julie Andrews. I even begged my mom to buy me a carpet bag so that I could carry around a magical tape measure, a lamp, and a potted plant. (I also wanted a traveling cloak in the worst way, but, umm, that’s another story for another day.)

Alas, I never got that carpet bag. It haunts me still. Anyway, I received an e-mail from a company called Radley London and they were featuring their new (drum roll, please)…carpet bag, the Haymarket!

Carpet Bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary Poppins’ carpet bag it’s not, but I like it. It’s chic and different-looking. It still has a bit of that traditional carpet bag vibe, but updated and bohemian. The colors are wonderful, all rich and Autumnal, and the large hobo shape would fit comfortably on your shoulder. I always like to have at least one accessory that is a bit different than what everyone is carrying around, and a bag like this could fit that bill. And while it probably wouldn’t hold a floor lamp, it looks plenty roomy enough to fit all the essentials. Maybe even a small dog.

It really is a lovely bag; however, if I’m being honest, it’s costs quite a bit of tuppence (i.e. way pricey). But hey, sometimes we all need a bit of a splurge. You don’t even have to buy it, really, to be inspired by it. And who knows, maybe you crafty people out there can use this bag as a jumping-off point to create an even better, even more carpet-y, even more Mary Poppins-y bag that is practically perfect in every way. Just cheaper.

6 thoughts on “Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a bag

  1. Just got the Holiday issue and I love it!! I have a question though…in the pattern pages there is a pattern for “Autumn Blessings”. I can’t find it in the magazine. Can you please tell me what page it’s on? Thanks so much! This is one of my favorite magazines!! Sue

  2. I loved the Nectarine Plum Crisp in the August issue. I’ve used it 3 or 4 times since I decovered it and I’ve missed placed it. Can anyone help me PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

