Run, run as fast as you can!

Although the holidays and all those yummy baked goods are just fond memories, there is still a leftover cookie question that Trusty Sidekick and I are looking for an answer to. If you are the lucky recipient of a freshly baked gingerbread man, is there a proper way to eat the cookie? Do you bite an arm, leg, or head off first? My son apparently thinks it is kinder to bite off the gingerbread man’s head so that he isn’t aware that he has reached his demise. My traditional method is to bite in this order: arms, legs and then, his head. I hadn’t thought this was cruel before my son’s theory. Perhaps next year I won’t bake gingerbread men.

Unfortunately, several gingerbread men were harmed in the making of this post.

One thought on “Run, run as fast as you can!

  1. Hello everyone,
    I just dropped by to check out the C&D blog for the first time! I love the gingerbread cookies!

    This year I made some faux gingerbread cookies with a white poly clay “filling” in the middle. I used the classic applesauce and cinnamon recipe: 1 cup powdered cinnamon + 1/4 cup applesauce. Knead dough for a few minutes. If sticky, add more cinnamon. Roll dough out 1/4″ thick. Cut with cookie cutters. For hanging ornies, poke hole in top. Dry in slow oven, 125 degrees for several hours, turning periodically. (I tried using a dehydrator to dry them. They dried quicker than I thought, so keep your eye on them.)

    I used the tiny gingerbread, tree, and bell cookie cutters. I cut some out of white poly clay and baked using mfg. directions. Once the white “filling” layers were baked, I glued the poly clay layer between two faux cookies. I sprinkled the tops with mica flakes. Cute! I can give you a photo if you would like.

    Even though mine were for Christmas, you could use the same technique for Valentine’s Day (tiny hearts) or Easter/Mother’s Day (flower, egg shape)

    Come visit me at my new Etsy shop that just opened… http://www.rhondasoriginals.etsy.com

    Have a happy, creative new year!

    Rhonda Knauf,
    Designer

Leave a Reply

