Baby, it’s cold outside.

Can you say snow day? That’s right, people—the grown-ups got the day off yesterday, too, which never happens. Take that, kids! With the threat of “Blizzard ‘10” bearing down on NJ, our offices officially closed. Suh-weeet!

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of winter. It just seems to go on forever, and snow just isn’t as much fun as it used to be. I know, I know, I’m a killjoy. Don’t get me wrong, I would never turn my nose up at a day off from work. But snow is only fun to me if I don’t have to drive in it.

Therefore, yesterday was fun! Knowing I could sleep in (we knew Tuesday night that we were going to be closed Wednesday), and then have all day to do nothing was won. der. ful.

Considering how other parts of the state, and of the east coast, have been getting walloped, we lucked out in terms of snow amounts, clocking in at just a little over 10″ at my house. But man, it just seemed to snow. And snow. And snow some more.

I tried to keep up with it, going out to shovel and clean off my car about every two hours so that it wouldn’t be too ridiculous this morning. And every time I went outside, I had to take this guy with me:

This is Riley, my Border Collie/Australian Shepherd mix. He’s the sweetest dog, and super smart, but he’s just one big ball of energy; he never gets tired. And he LOVES snow. When he sees flakes falling, he’ll just stand by the door, his butt wiggling (he doesn’t have a tail, so his butt literally wiggles when he’s happy) and he will follow you around until you take him out. So out we went.

First I threw some shovel-fuls of snow at him. He can’t get enough of that. Then his face gets all covered in snow and he looks awesome.

 

Then we went for a walk down the long, snow-covered road.

 

Don’t these trees look so pretty?

 

As you can tell, we were the only ones on the road.

 

I live on a dead-end road, so the only people that come down it are the people that live there, so there’s virtually no traffic. I’ll bring a leash, but I usually let him run along beside me, or off on his own (shhh, don’t tell anyone).  There’s a lot of woods for him to explore.

He loves ripping big branches off of trees and then carrying them around.

 

He’ll try running with them until he slams into something. Then he just shakes his head and runs on. I know, I’m awful, aren’t I, laughing at my dog like this. But he’s such a lunkhead, I can’t help it.

 

So we ran up and down the road a few times, then had to go inside cause I got cold. I wanted to take more pictures, but the snow was coming down so fast my camera kept getting soaked. Oh well.

The rest of the day was filled with reading, watching a lot of the Food Network, then doing some cooking of my own. Perfect snow day.

Has anyone else had a grown-up snow day lately? What do you like to do when the snow’s coming down?

2 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside.

  1. Noelle – thanks for sharing your snow day with Riley! It reminded me of my wonderful Sheltie, Lofton, who pased away two summers ago (sob!) He loved the snow and would jump really high to bit the snow as you threw it off the shovel. He also liked to chase the flakes as they fell from the sky. Dogs are so wonderful – I miss being a dog owner! Someday I’ll find just the right dog again . . . Lofton will be a hard one to follow- he was so smart!! Take care out there in the snow – we got out share in Ohio, too, but nothing like the East coast. And now poor ole Dallas is getting slammed.

    • Hey Sally,

      Aren’t Shelties the best? They’re so easy to train, they never wander–and they’re super smart! When my Sheltie, Taylor, was a puppy, if the other dogs drank all the water, she would drag the huge water bowl out of the kitchen (and she was tiny!) over to wherever you were sitting, and just chew on it in front of you until you filled it. We actually just had to put her to sleep on New Year’s Eve. It was an awful way to end the year, and I still miss her…so I know how you feel about Lofton!

      I have two other dogs besides Riley, but they were content with watching the snow fall from inside! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

