I’ll squeeze the (mulled) cider out of your Adam’s apple. -Moe Howard

So I posted on my Facebook page the other day that it was National Hot Mulled Cider Day, because I love me some cider, and once fall rolls around, I want it all the time. Alas, I didn’t get any mulled cider that day. Then yesterday, which was cold and rainy and just plain ol’ yucky, Beverly and I found ourselves trying to locate some place that sold mulled cider…and we couldn’t find one. Grrr. Foiled again! So, we thought, why not make our own? Duh!

So I brought in my trusty crock pot, and Beverly supplied the cider and mulling spices. We threw everything together and two hours later, we had a delightfully fragrant brew.

Here I am enjoying a nice big cuppa:

I told you I loved me some cider.

It smells and tastes like the holidays! Here’s the recipe we used, in case we got you in the mood for some, too:

Mulled Apple Cider

Ingredients

2 qt. apple juice or cider

1/2 C brown sugar (we probably only used about 1/4 C)

6 whole cloves

3 cinnamon sticks, broken into 1″ pieces (we left ours whole)

1 orange, cut into slices

Directions

Combine all ingredients in crock pot and heat on low for about 2 hours (or longer if you prefer a spicier taste). Strain spices and serve warm. (You could also do this on the stove top; simply place all ingredients in a pot, heat to boiling, then reduce and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.)

Yum yum cider. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

