How sweet it is!

I love getting food in the mail.

Look what came!

Sweet Sally’s Bakeshop is a delicious online bakery that sells yummylicious goodies that will remind you of being a kid, and watching your grandmother pull a freshly baked pie/tray of brownies/cookies/you name it out of the oven. It’s owned by Sally Saltzbart Minier, a third-generation baker who has learned the tricks of the trade from her mother and grandmother.

I was lucky enough to try three different goodies, and the Right Size Chocolate Rugelach was first up to bat:

I’ve never had Rugelach before, so I was excited to finally get to sample it. It was…so good! It reminded me a little of a chocolate croissant, but with the added bonus of currants and jam, topped with just a hint of cinnamon and sugar. It was a perfect balance of chocolate and fruit, and it wasn’t tooth-achingly sweet, which was nice.

Next, we move on to Caryn’s Tangy Lemon Bars:

I don’t know who Caryn is, but she is one lucky lady. Sally made these bars with Caryn in mind, and they are the perfect combo of sweet and sour–not too much sugar and not too much lemon. Dusted with powdered sugar, they are totally worth the mess you might make eating one. I make a pretty mean lemon bar (or so I’ve heard), but I have to give props to this delightful little treat.

Have you ever had peppermint bark? My favorite is dark chocolate, but I have found people either love it or hate it. Sally’s Big Apple Crackle takes one of my favorite treats to a whole new level:

It’s a matzoh cracker topped with bittersweet chocolate, caramel, and crushed peppermint candies. (I think they may roll the peppermint out just for the holidays; it’s usually topped with toasted almonds.) It satisfies salty and sweet cravings at the same time, and the fact that it’s all broken up makes you feel less guilty about eating it. Ohh, I can have just one more piece…look how small they are! Here’s a close up:


Before we know it, the holidays will be upon us (heck, according to the department stores, they’re already here), and it doesn’t matter if you celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or even Festivus, you’ll find the perfect sweet treat for someone special. There are so many other goodies, like brownies, black and white cookies (“Look to the cookie, Elaine!), scones, and…well, I’m getting hungry, so click here to check out the website and experience the stomach-rumbling wonder for yourself.

Leave a Reply

