It always comes back to cookies…

I was looking through some cookbooks that my grandmother had given me, and among all the little envelopes full of recipes cut from various newspapers and magazines (so that’s where I get it from!), I came across this fun little cookie cookbook from the McCall’s cookbook collection:

I did a little research, and this is part of a collection of (I believe) 18 or 19 volumes that included casseroles, cakes and pies, worldwide cooking, and salads and salad dressings. This is the first (M1) from 1965. They were reprinted from then until 1975.

I love looking through old cookbooks. They always have fun illustrations inside, like this:

They make me giggle now, and my mom said she and her brother used to giggle over them, too.

Some of the inside photography reminded me a little of Create & Decorate (if we had been around in the 60’s, that is):

Also note how they totally made up the words “cookier” and “goodier.” Awesome.

I love going through cookbooks that I’ve gotten from both of my grandmothers. It makes me feel closer to them, knowing that they used these same books to create delicious meals and treats for their families. I’m trying hard to carry on the tradition.

I thought I’d share a recipe with you, because after all, what good are cookies if you don’t share them? With the crispness of fall in the air and Thanksgiving right around the corner, these sounded like the perfect weekend cookie. Enjoy!

 

Apple Drop Cookies (From McCall’s Cookie Collection, 1965)

(Makes about 4 dozen cookies)

 

Ingredients

2 C sifted all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 C finely chopped walnuts

1 C finely chopped unpared red apple (1 small apple)

1 C raisins, chopped

1/2 C soft butter or margarine

1-1/3 C light brown sugar, firmly packed

1 egg, unbeaten

1/4 C apple juice or cider

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease cookie sheets.

2. Sift flour with baking soda, salt, and spices in large bowl. Stir in walnuts, apple, and raisins; set aside.

3. In large bowl of electric mixer, at medium speed, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

4. Add egg and apple juice; beat until combined.

5. Stir in flour mixture; mix well.

6. Drop by tablespoonfuls, 2″ apart, onto prepared cookie sheets.

7. Bake 8 minutes, or until golden brown.

2 thoughts on “It always comes back to cookies…

Leave a Reply

