It isn’t the size of the gift that matters, but the size of the heart that gives it. –Eileen Elias Freeman

‘Tis the season of gift giving! We’re all crazy these last few months, trying to find those perfect gifts for the people we care about. I must admit, I put an almost obscene amount of pressure on myself to find that special gift that will make the receiver squeal with delight. I love watching people open gifts that I just know they will love.

And as much fun as I have giving gifts, let’s be honest–I also love to get gifts! Who doesn’t?

So what’s the best holiday gift you ever got? It doesn’t have to be the most expensive or the most fancy; it could be those homemade chocolate chip cookies you got from your neighbor 10 years ago. Whatever tugged at your heartstrings–we want to hear all about it! Share your most favorite gift in the comments, and we’ll randomly select oodles of lucky commenters to win some Sarasa Metallic Pens from Zebra Pens!

These pretty, shiny pens come in gold, silver, and copper, and are the perfect pen to write your holiday thank-you notes with. They write awesomely on both light and dark paper, and are also great for crafts, journals, and letters. Click here to read more about them.

We can’t wait to read about your favorite gifts!

And one final note: Beverly and I would like to wish each and every one of you a safe and happy holiday, and a creative, inspiring, sunny, funny 2011!!

8 thoughts on “It isn’t the size of the gift that matters, but the size of the heart that gives it. –Eileen Elias Freeman

  1. My favorite gift was a small angel my son bought with his own money when he was 16. He put so much thought into it a was so happy when I opened it, truly a gift given from the heart! Happy New Year!

  2. I have a couple of favorites, but truly one of my favorites was from my husband who gave me the 12 days of Christmas. We had just bought our first house and had our first son. Money was tight. Every morning I would come downstairs into the kitchen and find a romantic note by the coffee pot with a gift in keeping with the 12 days of Christms. I don’t remember what the gifts were. They were simple. I do remember how excited I was to get to the 5 golden rings!!! I was sure it would be a piece of jewelry. Ran downstairs that morning to find…5 cans of pineapple rings. I will never forget it.
    Merry Christmas!

  3. I would have to say the best gift I was given was one from Santa! I was 7 years old and I was overwhelmed! Under the tree was a China dish set that I used with my teddy bears for afternoon tea. I still have it after fifty years! Merry Christmas and I hope Santa brings you the gift of your dreams!

  4. As of right now, my most favorite gift is a little dachshund figurine that my aunt got me last year for Christmas. I have a dachshund and he’s like my child, and this little figurine just reminds me of him and of all the mischief that he gets into.

  5. The one that really sticks in my mind was when I was little, I wanted roller skates, my Mum kept saying they couldn’t afford to get me the ones I wanted so I would have to wait until the following year. Yeah I know, we all say it, but when you are young you believe it. You could hear me squeal across the county on Christmas Day when I got those roller skates. Oh the joys of being young eh. And I have to say this year I was sent a Christmas surprise by my lovely friend Diane – the unexpected gifts are always the most precious. Hugs Linda

  6. My best Christmas gift was a vintage Chatty Cathy bought at an antique store by my husband (it was to replace the original one that I gave away as a teenager) The doll was exactly like mine that I received when I was six years old & even had a red dress. What a great memory!

  7. oh, hard to pick, so many special gifts over so many years from so many special people. In the eary 90’s a dear friend taught me to quilt then at Christmas she sent me Deb Mumm’s Quick Country Quilts book as my gift. I was thrilled – I spent my holidays happily making quilts! It was one of my best Christmases.

  8. My favorite Christmas gift – It was the Christmas of 1967 and hands’ down it has to be my white go-go boots! I was in 7th grade and I couldn’t wait for Christmas break to end so I could get back to school – those white go-go boots, navy knee socks and my school uniform……need I say more? I was definitely stylin’. 🙂 I still smile everytime I think about that Christmas!

Leave a Reply

