Summer excuses

 

Summer is fleeing, and the lazy afternoons are calling us, which made us think of the following poem.

 
I Meant To Do My Work Today

by Richard LeGallienne

I meant to do my work today,

But a brown bird sang in the apple tree,

And a butterfly flitted across the field,

And all the leaves were calling me.

And the wind went sighing over the land,

Tossing the grasses to and fro,

And a rainbow held out its shining hand,

So what could I do but laugh and go?

Do you think our bosses would understand if we left the office because the leaves, wind, and rainbows called us outside to play? Enjoy the season, friends. The daily chores will wait patiently for your return.

<a href=”Image: Tom Curtis / FreeDigitalPhotos.net” rel=”attachment wp-att-2328″>

5 thoughts on “Summer excuses

  1. Cute poem…my feeling when I used to work…retired.and love everyday to the fullest..even tho.I am raising grandchildren..I still find time to.paint and be “creative”‘ I involve the kids so we all can have some fun!!

Leave a Reply

