Happy accidents

Kiss of the sun for pardon. Song of the birds for mirth.

You’re closer to God’s heart in a garden

than any place else on earth.

– Dorothy Frances Gurney

     This year, I wasn’t organized enough to buy morning glory seeds. And, I’m apparently not embarrassed enough to admit that I wasn’t organized last year, either. I really enjoy planting a combination of morning glories and moonflowers in the same pot. The reason for this is that I only see the morning glories before I leave for work. By the time I return at the end of the day, they have sung their complete song, and have curled in a final bow. This saddened me, which gave me the inspiration to plant the moonflowers to greet me in the evening hours. But not these past two years.

     Well, a higher gardening authority than me surprised me last year with stray seeds that grew in the prior year’s vine pot. They did blossom in a bit of a straggly way, and indeed made me smile. This year, I happily found more stray seeds growing under our deck in the stones, and I dug them up and transplanted them to the pot upstairs. This gardening surprise has become a game for me now. This summer has been so hot, so I faithfully watered the vines, uncertain if I was cultivating morning glories or moonflowers. Last week, I began to wonder if I had transplanted weeds, as no flowers were appearing. Well, this morning my questions were answered. Morning glories! And yes, I did begin the day with a smile, which I am now sharing with you.

3 thoughts on “Happy accidents

  1. I love surprises, especially in nature! 🙂
    Morning glories take me back to my childhood and early, foggy, August mornings. They made my walk down our long country driveway to catch the school bus a much better one. My mom loved morning glories and always had them growing here and there, sometimes on purpose and sometimes by accident.

Leave a Reply

