Mad about buttons?

Incomparable Buttons has happily provided us with product for a fun giveaway to our readers—a wonderful selection of new teeny, tiny, buttons to craft, cross stitch, knit, or sew with!

These buttons are really, really small (ranging from .35 inches to . 51 inches) and lightweight, which makes them perfect for patchwork and embellishment work. Every one of these tiny buttons is a miniature work of art. The stone and clay mixture is formed by hand into buttons, and then dried in the sun. Once dry, they are fired, then hand painted, and fired a second time making them incredibly durable and fully washable.

Incomparable, SA started as a small company in 1984 in Johannesburg, South Africa. Working around a kitchen table, Jennifer Pascall was busy transforming small pieces of clay into buttons of all shapes and sizes. Many of the first designs, which are still popular today, were inspired by Africa’s rich ethnic artworks and distinctive wild animals. As the company evolved, ladies from the local community were hired and trained in the art of button making.

The selection of carded buttons that Incomparable Buttons has given us to share are similar to those shown here, but we also have tiny little cars, cupcakes, birds and hearts! We will be drawing 2 names to win a selection of these tiny, terrific, crafting treasures! (Perfect for baby and adult clothes, hats, scarves, and more!)

To enter your name in our giveaway, simply leave us a comment about what project you would love to use these buttons for!

Even though the company is located overseas, there is a mail order option for US customers. Visit www.buttonmad.com for additional information about the company, as well as view additional product.

Stay tuned … we will select the winners on Friday, November 4th!

31 thoughts on “Mad about buttons?

  1. Pingback: Mad about buttons…a winner! « Create & Decorate: The Blog

  2. I love little buttons. I would use them for scrapbook albums and cards and sewing projects and who knows what else. I’d put them to good use for sure.
    Jean

  3. I would to use these buttons on a wall quilt I am manking for a gift. They seem to be the right size.
    Thanks for the chance
    Cheers
    maggie

  4. I use buttons on so many things, it’s hard to narrow it down to one project. I’m always looking for super small buttons to use as eyes for my critters, and it’s very hard to find the perfect ones. The flower buttons would also be great for the fiber flowers that I make! They are all wonderful!

  5. I have this wood bear/bunny. I make seasonal outfits for them and I like to add buttons to their outfits for added embellishment instead of just painting a button on!!!! Those buttons are really cute and different and I like different!!!
    Lois

  6. I would like to try making some placemats and use the buttons on the mats and the napkins for a different look! Love love love buttons!!

  7. I have several ideas for using felted wool (clothing that I have felted) appliqué, and other materials to make pictures. The one I’m working on now is for fall, but the next one will be a spring scene. I’ve collected buttons for years, and will be incorporating some in each scene.

  8. My daughter Sarah and I both love buttons. We have this little, special button sharing thing that always keeps us looking for new and unique buttons. If I find them, I share with her, and vice-versa. We use them for everything…crafting, sewing, and sometimes displaying in vintage glassware. The theme of her baby shower was ‘cute as a button’, and we used them on everything. Each invitation was different, and had buttons on it. So, I would first share with Sarah, then the possibilities are endless! Thanks!

  9. I am a button-aholic I have sewing machine drawers of buttons, many i use on my dolls for eye’s and button’s on dresses. some buttons i keep in jar’s…those are for looking at, but I think I would find a special place for these special buttons so others could enjoy them too.

  10. I already know what design I would use these buttons for – a trendy and funky flower bouquet. My November B-Day is coming and they would make a special gift. Thanks.

  11. Oh my gosh, I have needed tiny buttons like these for my Christmas ornament projects several times! And, not being able to find tiny enough ones in the scrap-booking departments at fabric & craft stores, I’ve had to resort to using French knots, pieces of felt or craft foam, beads or fabric or foam paint. These just don’t have the same result, unfortunately.

  12. i would love to put these on my grand daughters dress, and save a few to put on some perfect fabric and frame them just for me.

  13. These are incredibly cute and unique buttons! Because they are natural and from the earth, I would want to use them on a project that would also be an upcycled or recycled item. Being they are flowers, I’m thinking ahead to Spring, just as you at C&D are probably doing. They would look great on some stuffed wool Easter eggs. I have lots of wool, and plan to make eggs for myself and for gifts, to go with the bunnies I made last Spring. So, my project would be to use them as embellishments on Easter eggs made from recycled wool. Thanks for the opportunity to see them, the website is fun and very informative and interesting. Karen

  14. I have a new granddaughter and have been looking for just the perfect buttons for a sweater her dear mother knitted for her. These are the ones we need!!

Leave a Reply

