“What is it?” #35 – the Answer

Oh, you sly, sly dogs…. you smoked us again! We had lots of correct answers, and terrific guesses. To read those, click here, and scroll down. This absolutely is a vintage dish draining rack (some of you told us such, and then changed your minds… you made us smile).

Last Friday Noelle and I took a vacation day and had an adventure in Lancaster, PA, where I (most excitedly) found this wire wonder with the plan to use it on my desk at home. I’m thrilled with the rounded tray—which will hold ribbons, tapes and pens. In the dish dividers I plan to organize notepads, letters, and the like. Do you friends have other creative suggestions for the use of this piece?

3 thoughts on ““What is it?” #35 – the Answer

  1. I live in Lancaster County can find amazing vintage items at shops, markets, auctions, and even yard sales. One of my fav finds was a vintage metal and wood ironing board circa 1930, completely original. I also acquired a cast iron farm house sink circa 1920 from a friend’s mom who was remodeling for an unbelieveable $50! (getting it in the car was a chore but worth the struggle!)

  2. I live in Lancaster County can find amazing vintage items at shops, markets, auctions, and even yard sales. One of my fav finds was a vintage metal and wood ironing board circa 1930, completely original. I also acquired a cast iron farm house sink circa 1920 from a friend’s mom who was remodeling for an unbelieveable $50! (getting it in the car was a chore but with the struggle!)

  3. I think your idea is great. I’ve also used these for displaying old plates, like you are in the photo, when I had sales. Folks can see them better than if they are stacked. However, if you wanted to keep the rack, don’t let anyone see it at a sale, they’ll want it. I like the end tray. Now they have a cup on the end to put silverware in, you know that. Thanks for another fun “what is it?” Karen

Leave a Reply

