A stitch in time…

The response was so great for our book giveaway last week, that we thought we would do another today!

19 projects, lessons in quilting, rug hooking, cross-stitch, and more!

Stitches from the Schoolhouse:

Projects Inspired by Classrooms of the Past

By Renée Plains, Kansas City Star Books http://www.pickledishstore.com

Have you ever looked at turn-of-the-century photos and wondered about the people that looked back out at you? Renée Plains has always had this fascination with old school photos, and this curiosity has inspired her latest book.

Old schoolhouses, with their classic structure, rows of wooden desks, and coat hooks are a reminder of what education used to look like, when seven-year-olds shared a classroom with 13-year-olds, and each student wrote out their lessons on their own slates. Quite unlike today, where SMART Boards have replaced chalkboards, and students can bring their laptops to school.

The projects Renée shares will help bring a bit of the good ‘ole days into your everyday life. The Apple for the Teacher Pincushion is a different spin on a gift for your child’s favorite teacher; the Cat’s Game Book Tote is the perfect accessory for a trip to the library; the Vintage Photo Album will be the perfect place to display your treasured antique photographs. School- themed quilts like the Schoolhouse Steps and Little Brown Schoolhouse will look equally beautiful draped at the foot of the bed or displayed on a wall. Beautiful color photos and easy-to-follow steps accompany each project, and patterns are included.

Visit the Create & Decorate website for a chance to win this book: click here!

14 thoughts on “A stitch in time…

  1. Oh wow, I love the cover of this book and it sounds so neat! My very first big antique purchase was an old school desk from the late 1800’s. I LOVE digging through flea markets and antique malls looking for old school supplies for my desk, it’s so much fun! I would definitely use this book, but it would look awesome displayed on my old desk!! I hardly ever win giveaways so I need to find this book!!! =]

    Thank you for the chance to win it! You girls have a delightful weekend~

  2. My sister is a retired first grade teacher! She taught for 34 years and
    would absolutely love these patterns…
    Many thanks, Cindi

  3. OH, this book looks absolutely lovely…and I do LOVE vintage stuff. I remember my grandmother showing me her father’s high school yearbook…all 20 pages of it..and the women had these big, puffy hair-dos…and large bows in their hair, a la Anne of Green Gables…In any case, I’m definitely going to enter the giveaway 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

  4. Thanks for the opportunity to win this great book! I just tried to enter over at the website though and it told me I had already entered with my email address and that my current status was ‘Opt In’? Not sure what that meant so not sure if I was able to enter or not? I had also entered for your needle punch snowman giveaway so don’t know if that is the problem. Thanks again, Deb

    • Hi Deb, If you were told you already entered, all is OK. That prompt simply means that we have your email info in our system from another contest. Your name will still be entered this particular giveaway. Thank you for enjoying our giveaways so much!

  5. I have enjoyed your magazine so much that i have started a collection. i made the halloween witch recently. i also made the wall hanging with the sail boat and anchor in it. i made mine bigger and added ‘born in USA’ because my grandson was born there. we are canadian. i look forward to winning your school house book…i like quilting and this would be a great house to quilt in placemats for my grandchildren..
    i read all your facebook comments…
    kudos to all those wonderful crafters who contribute to your magazine.

Leave a Reply

