From our Bookshelf Giveaway!

You have come to learn that we love to share when we find something we know you will like. Be sure to enter for a chance to win this book!

Passion for Primitives: Folk Décor for Interior Design

By Franklin and Esther Schmidt, Schiffer Publishing, Ltd. • http://www.schifferbooks.com

passion for primitives

Primitives are all about simplicity and function. True primitive pieces were ones that were mainly designed to be used, though some were constructed to add a little special touch to a room as well. To those who are in love with them, however, they could most certainly be called “accidental art.”

The authors traveled all over the United States, vising prim homes and photographing the owners’ most prized pieces. In a world where everything is moving so quickly, many are trying hard to simplify, both in lifestyle and in decorating. From double wides to McMansions, anything goes for a prim decorating style. The outside doesn’t matter at all—it really is what’s inside that counts.

An up-to-date kitchen can have a decidedly prim feel with rustic cabinetry and bench seating; a contemporary bathroom can feel historic with a cleverly-designed old-fashioned sink; and a set of bunk beds created with distressed wood and covered in quilts can send a child’s bedroom back in time. And prim decorating can fit any budget; real antiques or recreated pieces will look equally lovely.

Whether you want an all-out 1800’s house or want to simply add a primitive accent to a contemporary home, the beautiful photography and informative chapters will leave you feeling inspired.

GIVEAWAY!
ENTER for a chance to win this book!

10 thoughts on “From our Bookshelf Giveaway!

  1. A book after my own heart. It would love a spot on the night stand next to my bed and would give me hours of reading. I can imagine the ideas and projects I will implement into my home once I know them. FIngers are crossed,

  2. YAY! This book was added to my “to buy” list when it first came out. Needless to say… my “to buy” list is WAY long and I haven’t made it to this book yet, lol. But a lot of the prim bloggers I follow have it and says it is a MUST HAVE! Maybe I should move it to the top of my list, hehe.

    Thanks for a chance at winning this! You all are awesome! =]

  3. I adore primitives and our whole home is decorated with them…..
    This book would be wonderful to use as a guide to update my
    decorating! Many thanks, Cindi
    jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

