A book from our shelf – and a giveaway!

We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful crating books arrive at our office, and we love to share the creativity found within their covers. In the summer issue of Create & Decorate (click HERE to peek into the issue and click HERE to order a copy) Noelle shared her review of the book All Sewn Up. We thought you would enjoy another colorful look into the book, and then offer you a chance to enter our giveaway to own the copy!

All Sewn Up: 35 exquisite projects using applique, embroidery, and more

by Chloe Owens, CICO Books

In a nutshell: using vintage fabrics to create fresh projects for the home!

Reviewed by Noelle A. DeMarco

Chloë Owens is a bona-fide creative soul. You’ll see that with just a quick flip-through of the colorful pages of her book. Inspired by the colors and fabrics of the 1960s, you won’t be able to keep from smiling as you read.

Toss that boring old computer case you’ve been using and make a Lush and Lavish Laptop Cover instead. A sweet Butterfly Catcher Pillow is a fun addition to any children’s room, and some Funky Fabric Flowers create a bouquet that will last a lifetime. Throw a tea party with your best friends—the Fly-Away-Umbrella Tea Cozy’s whimsical design will create the most inviting tea table.

The instructions are straightforward, and you can use any fabrics that make you happy. There are technique and supply guides to help beginners or refresh the pros. All the templates you need are included, so grab some supplies and get started!

Pretty-pleasing-sugar-on-top Placemats

Funky Fabric Flower

To enter yourself in our book giveaway, simply leave us a comment to this post. We will randomly select a winner on Friday, June 15. Good luck!

69 thoughts on “A book from our shelf – and a giveaway!

  1. What a cute book! I need all the help I can get. Love to mess around with crafts but it is hard for me to come up with things on my own. This book looks like a winner to me and I would love to win it!

  2. What a fun, retro-ey (is that a WORD?) book! Looks like it has a variety of projects and techniques for just about ANY project or gift! I will HAVE to have this book and it would be fabulous to WIN one!!

  3. I think the “All sewn up” book will give one of us lucky people a bit of relaxation and fun. Sew many great projects. would love to add this one to my library! Thanks for the opportunity.

  4. These are cool especially the flowers. I really would love the book that tells me how to do such beautiful art work.

  5. I’d love to see more of these crafts! Looking for things to do with lacy doilies like our grandmas used to make… and also fabric scraps in general. Maybe aprons?? Please enter me in the drawing…thanks!

  6. Love the appliqués and the fabric flowers. I have made some fabric flowers before but were a little different from these pictured. I love to sew and create new designs of appliqués and flowers. Thanks for entering me in the contest!

  7. What a cute book 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love embroidery and fun sewing projects. My grandmother used to sew a lot, so it reminds me of her, too 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

  8. I love vintage fabric! your “book giveaway” looks like it has some great ideas for my over grown stash! enter me please! Thank you!

  9. Enter me please in this drawing. I’m sure I have boxes of vintage fabric just waiting to get out into the sunshine. Thanks for your offer and hope I win 🙂

  10. That looks like a great book especially since I love vintage. I’m sure it has some interesting projects. I love that flower!

  11. What a fresh new approach. It looks like it will be well received. I would love to Create with this beauty. Thanks.

  12. I would love to win this, I have so much fabric that I could use for those wonderful flowers. They remind of the flowers from the 60’s…FLOWER POWER! Please pick me, I never win anything!

  13. Looks like some nice ideas. I have been saving cotton pajamas (Goodwill is a good place to find these) for projects like this. Many times the patterns and colors are 60’s and 70’s “retro”, and the fabric has been washed enough to give it a lovely worn look.

  14. I just was saying to my one daughter in law I have all this old material, but don’t know what to make with it. Now I know winning this book would be great so I could make some flowers with the material. I just love that idea. Please enter me.
    Kelly Potter

  15. I just got through reading about this contest in the latest issue. I perked right up as years ago I was fortunate to acquire a wonderful collection of beautiful vintage fabrics from my late Aunt. The colors and patterns are incredible but I’ve been hesitant to jump right in and start cutting them up. I would really love to win this book and get some great ideas on where to begin.Thanks.

Leave a Reply

